Series/Streaming Reviews · Streaming Reviews - Summer 2016

Taboo Tattoo – Episodes 5-8

My reviews for Episodes 5-8 of Taboo Tattoo are up on Anime News Network. For my full thoughts, check out the links below!

Episode 5

Episode 6

Episode 7

Episode 8

I won’t lie to you, ladies and gentlemen. This show has absolutely gone to hell.

It’s a damned shame too, because it started out with a lot of promise. It was an overplayed setup, of course, and its potential was always limited, but TT’s first few episodes showed a lot of potential. This could have been 2016’s “Enjoyably Stupid Popcorn Action Series”. There are worse labels to get stuck with, after all.

One such label would be “Most Embarassing Descent into Gibberish”, which Taboo Tattoo is apparently gunning for, and with gusto. I’ve seen a lot of people compare it to Big Order, which I also reviewed. The comparison isn’t without merit, but Big Order still comes out as the worse show, at least for me. It was actively and offensively terrible, doing everything in its power to pummel me into submission with its neverending series of stupid, awful choices.

Taboo Tattoo, on the other hand, is less rage inducing than it is befuddling. It had a plot, somewhere, but it threw that out of the window a long time ago, along with any pretense of being comprehensible. If I’m being honest, it inspires more pity in me than anger. It wants so badly to be more than it is, and every weeks it makes a bigger and bigger mess of things. A part of me wants to stoop over and pick the show up off of its knees, to find some way to help it stagger across the finish line, even if every other show finished the race a long time ago.

Another part of me realizes I have a few more weeks of this ridiculousness left, and really wants the summer to be over.

 

-J.B.

Leave a Reply

